New York rugby report: Lansdowne crowned JoJo Moore champions


Lansdowne A (8) Vs. (5) White Plains A

Lansdowne went into the game against White Plains in the knowledge that a win was going to see them win the cup for the first time. Lansdowne started the game in determined fashion. Strong carries from Tom Murray and Mike Crosby brought Lansdowne close but they couldn’t get across the line. It was from a charge down from Captain Mark Giordano that yielded the first score. Tom Goggins pounced on the loose ball to touch down. The resulting conversion was missed. Despite attacking for the remainder of the half, the only other score came through a penalty from Sennin Flanagan, leaving a half time score of 8-0.

Once again in the second half, injuries forced a reshuffle in the Lansdowne backline. The heat had taken its toll on the Bronx boys as White Plains grew into the game, with their winger proving quite elusive, eventually touching down after a strong run. The Lansdowne defense held firm from the remainder of the game to leave a final score of 8-5 and win the JoJo Moore cup.

Player of the Tournament: Manus O’Sullivan

Match Day Squad – Ciaran Byrne, Richard Martin, Tom Murray, Ian O’Connor, Delf King, Stephen Murphy, Mike Crosby, John Cahill, Danny Devlin, John McGuinness, James Barrenger, Brian Kealey, Tom Goggins, Pa Doona, Chris Higgins, Mike Lepetit, Brian Fingleton, Manus O’Sullivan, Luis Carpio, Paul Antezzo, Mark Giordano, John O’Meara, Sennin Flanagan, Cormac Condon, John Farrell, Patrick Devery, Omeihto James, EJ Brutus, Will Horgan, Eoghan Gallagher, Paddy Grogan, Greg Alexander, John Giordano, Ross Tormey, David Phfaeler