New York GAA report: Galway hurlers claim victory over Long Island


Man of the Match Paul McComiskey (Leitrim)

Referee John Fitzpatrick

Ladies Football - Breffni Blues for Fianna
Cavan 3-15 Na Fianna 3-10

Cavan are back in the Ladies final after a five point win over Na Fianna on Sunday. Na Fianna did have a four point lead after ten minutes but then Cavan started to kick into gear. Points from Ruane and Murphy were followed by a Nicola McCullough goal when she linked with the flying wing back.

Three further points preceded a Rosie O’Reilly/Broderick goal when Kate Byrne did the spade work. The big lead was quickly pulled back however when Na Fianna had back to back goals from Aine Dwyer and Charlotte Cooney in the 20th and 21st minutes to narrow the gap to one at 2-05 to 2-04. Cavan finished the half strong however with a further five points from frees and play to put distance between the sides.

Cavan cancelled out a Na Fianna score to open the second half with one of their own before Alisha Jordon extended the lead. However Mary Naughton was sin binned for a challenge on Herbert during which time they scored 1-02 with Herbert getting the goal. Cavan recovered from the shock however with Caroline McBrien and Fiona Scally doing great work to again increase the advantage. Emma Clarke added two points before she hit the net. They with stood pressure from Na Fianna and two points but were able to get the timely interception to deny any further goal chances.

Cavan 1 Nora Kilkenny 2 Caitlin Hynes 3 Aoife O’Rourke 4 Shanna Hutton 5 Mairead Ruane (0-02)6 Mary Naughton 7 Fiona Scally 8 Kate Byrne (0-01)9 Viv McCormack (0-01)10 Alisha Jordon (0-04)11 Sarah Murphy (0-02)12 Rosie O’Reilly Broderick (1-00)13 Nicola McCullough (1-00)14 Emma Clarke (1-04)15 Caitlin McKenna (0-01) Subs Caroline McBrian, Cathriona Rafferty 

Na Fianna 1 Joanne McKenna 2 Shannon Spillane 3 Katrina Lynch 4 Imelda Mullarkey 5 Stephanie Tierney 6 Sinead Farrell (0-01) 7 Joanne Monaghan 8 Aine O’Dwyer (1-02)9 Margaret Brady 10 Brianna Tierney (0-01)11 Deirdre Brennan (0-01)12 Charlotte Cooney (1-03) 13 Kelly McCormack 14 Aoife Herbert (1-01)15 Tasha Barnwall (0-01) Kiera O’Connor Kiera O’Connor Tessa Mackey
Referee Mags Doherty (Wexford)