New Zealand Irish Dancing Nationals 2010 - Results and Video


The Irish Dancing community in New Zealand is small but very dedicated with numerous World Championship medal holders and recallers who regularly make the journey across the ocean to Feisanna in Australia, America and Europe. Irish dancing has become popular worldwide and in New Zealand there has never been such a demand to learn the intricacies and skills of hornpipes, reels and jigs.

The New Zealand Irish dancing schools are of a very high standard with professional teachers bringing their pupils up to a standard where many can compete with confidence and distinction in the annual World Championships in Ireland.

Situated deep in the southern hemisphere, There are multifarious events with Irish connections and connotations held weekly, monthly and annually. Some are major happenings attracting hundreds of spectators and participants, others are small homely affairs where strange faces are few but nonetheless welcome.

Did you know? -

"In the eighteen hundreds, the North Island of New Zealand was known as New Ulster, the South as New Leinster and Stewart Island as New Munster."

The 2010 New Zealand Championships are the only World Championship Qualifying event and took place October 6th - 8th in Wellington.

The 2010 New Zealand Championships are over for another year

Special Congratulations to the 2010 Scholarship Winners:

Lachlan Cassidy-Rowse, Kildunne, Wellington
Ashleigh John, Doyle Academy, Auckland

2010 TIDA NZ Championships

Southwards Theatre, Otaihanga Road, Paraparaumu

Mona Ni Rodaigh Ui Lionnain, ADCRG, Ireland

Darren Maguire, ADCRG, USA/London

Patricia Kennelly, ADCRG, USA


Chris McGory, USA

(WQ = World Qualifier)

Girls Under 7
(The Kelly Trophy, Donated by the Kelly Family)

1st Hannah Lowry, O’Neill

2nd Keely O’Grady, Kerry

3rd Clare Giles, Kildunne

4th Elizabeth Sullivan, Kildunne

5th Amelia Coyle, Kay-Hallissey

6th Ruby Christensen-Walden, Kildunne

Girls Under 8
(The Rose of Tralee Trophy, Donated by Patricia Kildunne-Budding ADCRG)

1st Lily Pierson, O’Neill
2nd Ruby Jane McLachlan, Kay-Hallissey

3rd Kirsten Hansen, Kay-Hallissey

4th Victoria Rose Manu, Kildunne

5th Shivani Parbhu, Kildunne

6th Kayla Horler, O’Neill

Girls Under 9
(The Corrogurm Trophy, Donated by John & Kathi Ryder)

1st Phoebe Rouse, O’Neill

2nd Ciara Walshe, Doyle

3rd Samantha Price, O’Neill

4th Ina Dempster, Doyle

5th Yasmin Kelly, Kildunne

6th Johanna Schott-Rodriguez, Kerry

7th Marion Hardwick, O’Neill

8th Harriet Teichert, Kildunne

Boys Under 9
(The Annie Doyle Memorial Trophy, Donated by The Doyle Family)

1st Harrison Bisphan, Kay-Hallissey

Girls Under 10
(The Ryder Trinity Trophy, Donated by Michelle Ryder)

1st Holly Lawson, Doyle WQ

2nd Annabelle Rouse, O’Neill WQ

3rd Shonagh Lowry, O’Neill WQ

4th Isabel Sullivan, O’Neill WQ

5th Hannah Kim, Kay-Hallissey WQ

6th Maeve Cleary, O’Neill

7th Brooklyn Riggs, Doyle

8th Molly Bentinck-Stokes, Doyle

Girls Under 11
(The O'Neill Trophy, Donated by the O'Neill School of Dance)

1st Samantha Tait, Kerry WQ

2nd Phoebe Hilliam, Kildunne WQ

3rd Olivia Ludgate, Kerry WQ

4th Shania Foon, Kildunne WQ

5th Emma Salzano, Kerry WQ

6th Jessica Patterson, Kerry

7th Bethany Petrovich, Kildunne

8th Teighan Sinclair, Kay-Hallissey

Boys 9-11
(The Antrim Trophy, Donated by The Scullion Family)

1st Liam Mooney, Doyle WQ

2nd Mitchell O’Hara, Kay-Hallissey WQ

3rd Matthew Lynch, Kerry WQ

4th Patrick Sharrow, Doyle

Girls Under 12
(The Lir Trophy. Donated by The Douglas School of Irish Dance)

1st Kuni Colleen Vidal, Kildunne WQ

2nd Olivia Dodson, Doyle WQ

3rd Nicola Prebble, Kay-Hallissey WQ

4th Georgia Christensen-Walden, Kildunne WQ

5th Vienna de Wit, O’Neill WQ

6th Rayner Clarke, Doyle

7th Mariah Unity Paine, Kildunne

8th Sophia Hogg, Kay-Hallissey

9th Whitney Burfield-Tatofi, O’Neill

Girls Under 13
(The Dublin Trophy, Donated by The Ahmed Family)

1st Hannah Shackley, O’Neill WQ

2nd Eleisha Foon, Kildunne WQ

3rd Emma Green, O’Neill WQ

4th Jessica Ludgate, Kerry WQ

5th Leisha Casy, Kildune WQ

Boys 11-13
(The Connolly Irish Dancing School Trophy, Donated by The Connolly Family)

1st Harry Bartlett, Doyle WQ

2nd Declan Weir, Doyle WQ

3rd Harry Adams, Doyle WQ

Girls Under 14
(The O'Sullivan Trophy, Donated by The O'Sullivan School of Irish Dancing)

1st Corey Bartlett, Doyle WQ

2nd Neve Saris, Kildunne WQ

3rd Chelsea Walker, O’Neill WQ

4th Crystal Espositio, O’Neill WQ

5th Sarah Trevalyan, Kay-Hallissey WQ

Girls Under 15

(The Cronin Trophy, Donated by Scoil Rince Cronin)

1st Tayla Kenyon, O’Neill WQ