Long Island Gaels 5-16 Ulster 3-18

NY GAA report: Long Island Gaels secure first final


Long Island Gaels 5-16 Ulster 3-18

Long Island Gaels qualified for the senior hurling final courtesy of this victory which places them in an uncatchable position on top of the senior hurling division.

In their second year in existence they are undefeated from five games, and based on their performances thus far they will certainly start as favorites against either Ulster or Galway when final time arrives.

With eight different players hitting the scoreboard, including 1-9 from Keith Hogan, Long Island kept adding scores to respond to any Ulster threat. They had an early lead of 2-8 to 0-3 with Hogan already accounting for 1-5 while David Burke had the other goal.

Ulster did have a resurgence in the last 10 minutes of the first half with Paul Sheehan firing a string of scores, while Ger Fettridge and Patrick MacNaughton also added tallies to leave the interval score 2-10 to 0-11.

On the resumption Matthew Keating added a point for the Gaels, but Sheehan again cancelled that out from a free. Goals followed for the winners from David Kenny and Tadhg Slevin and they appeared to be coasting.

One last rally from Ulster did create a mild stir with Alan Higgins blasting a goal to narrow the gap to five. The Gaels, however, acted in a positive fashion with Danny Breen hitting the net while Shelley and Hogan had points.

Ulster did have goals from Arthur and McInerney, but time expired with too large a gap remaining.

For the winners, Matthew Keating, Conor Ryan, Keith Hogan and David Burke excelled. With the addition of weekenders for the senior final they will start favorites.

Ulster had good performances from McInerney, Cunningham, Patrick Hogan and Sheehan and will look forward to the challenge of Galway in the lone semifinal.

Long Island Gaels: 1 Ray Murray, 2 Luke Mullally, 3 Cian Morris, 4 Matt Keating (0-1), 5 Conor Lynam, 6 Barry Mulligan, 7 Conor Ryan, 8 Tadhg Callaghan (0-1), 9 Jack Shelly (0-2), 10 Keith Hogan (1-9), 11 David Kenny (1-0), 12 Tadhg Slevin (1-2), 13 David Burke (1-1). Subs: Danny Breen (1-0), Cian Hayes (0-1), Cathal Hardiman.

Ulster: 1 Martin King, 2 Andrew McGrath, 3 Peter Hatzer, 4 Blaine LeHart, 5 David McInerney (1-0), 6 Mike Cunningham, 7 Enda Grogan, 8 Richie Hartnett, 9 Patrick McNaughton (0-1), 10 Patrick Hogan (0-3), 11 Alan Higgins (1-1), 12. Ger Arthur (1-2), 13. Paul Sheehan (0-10). Subs: Brian McNaughton, Ger McFettridge (0-1), Peader McMahon, Eanna Slattery.

Referee: Paddy Hogan.

Man of the match: Conor Ryan.


Log in with your social accounts:

Or, log in with your IrishCentral account:

Forgot your password ?

Don't have an account yet? Register now !

Join IrishCentral with your social accounts:

Already have an account ?

For Newsletter Subscribers – Draw for 1 Prize on December 31st.

Prize: Your Piece of Ireland – a Square of Land in the heart of the Glens of Antrim, Ireland

More details here (or you can buy a little piece of Ireland directly): http://bit.ly/1zew9ox

Terms & Conditions

Or, sign up for an IrishCentral account below:

By clicking above you are indicating that you have read & agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Make sure we gathered the correct information from you

By clicking above you are indicating that you have read & agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

You already have an account on IrishCentral! Please confirm you're the owner.

Our new policy requires our users to save a first and last name. Please update your account: