Thierry Henry is to appear before a FIFA hearing today over the infamous handball during the World Cup playoff second leg against the Republic of Ireland in Paris on November 18 that sent his team to the World Cup.
The hearing was ordered last month when FIFA's executive committee called Henry to face a disciplinary committee.
The current FIFA rules are more specific about players using their hands to prevent a goal rather than to score a goal. In Henry's case, he used his hand to keep a free kick in play before crossing the ball to colleague William Gallas, who scored what would be the decisive goal against the Irish in the playoff.
It is expected that the French striker will base his defense on this interpretation of FIFA regulations, and in doing so hope to avoid a ban. The Barcelona striker could be hit with a fine or a warning, based on how FIFA want to come down on this form of unsportsmanlike behavior.
Log in with your social accounts:
Or, log in with your IrishCentral account:
Don't have an account yet? Register now !
Join IrishCentral with your social accounts:
Already have an account ? Log in
Or, sign up for an IrishCentral account below:
Make sure we gathered the correct information from you
You already have an account on IrishCentral! Please confirm you're the owner.
Our new policy requires our users to save a first and last name. Please update your account: