New York GAA report: Galway hurlers claim victory over Long Island


In a close encounter of the hurling kind, Galway did just enough to get the points against a Long Island side that made them work all the way. Galway had jumped into a three point lead before LIG replied with 1-02 with Slevin driving the goal home when Shane Minton set him up.

Galway did have their best period in the aftermath as they replied with three points and then had a brilliant Cormac Murphy goal when he soled in on the right wing. They followed with five of the next six scores but the key difference was a second Long Island major when Bernie Dea found the net from 21 yards out.

The losers also added four points to close out the half to move into a 2-10 to 1-11 lead. Galway were back in it however when they had a goal, from a penalty top open the second half when Martin Dolphin was fouled. Both sides added points and with fifteen minutes left it was 2-14 to 2-13 for LIG. Cormac Murphy again showed his ability however when he scored his second goal of the game and the Tribe were able to hang on for the victory.

Long Island Gaels 1 Ray Murray 2 Tadgh Callaghan (0-01) 4 Dan Breen 5 Enda Barrett (0-01)6 Ed Kendrick 7 Mike Elwood 8 Jake McMahon  9 Ray McLoughney (0-02)  10 Dean Higgins (0-03) 11  Bernard Dea (1-03)12 Danny Masterson (0-01)13 Tadgh Slevin (1-03) 15 Shane Minton  (0-02)Subs  Enda O’Connor Liam Meehan (0-02)Conor Glynn, Conor Lynam

Galway 1 Gavin Lally 2 Ger O’Halloran 4 Richie Gaule 5 Liam Butler 6 Ciaran Hoyne 7 Aiden Bellew 8Harry Keogh (0-03) 9 Martin Dolphin 10 Robbie Jackson (1-02)11 Paul Gordon (0-02)12 Robert Mitchell (0-02)13 Cormac Murphy (2-04)15 Ger Kelly (0-03)Subs Cormac Condon, Kevin Curley Paddy Dolphin

Man of the Match: Cormac Murphy (Galway) 

Referee Finbarr Flood

Senior football - Goals the key
Donegal 3-13 Cavan 1-10 

Donegal survived a player down in the second half to comprehensively defeat Cavan on Sunday. After five minutes Donegal were 1-01 to 0-02 ahead but then Cavan had their best period of the game. They had five points with Gary Walsh getting the first three to forge ahead. Donegal settled however and ent on a tremendous run before the break. They had four points from Connor (three) and Lynam before Lynam blasted a goal when his free came back of the post, three further points before Cavan had a point from Walsh at the break to leave six between the sides. While Donegal added three of the first four points of the second half and were able to withstand a Walsh goal as time ticked down as well as the sending of, off CJ Molloy to stroll home.  

Cavan 1 Gavin Joyce 2 Ronan McGinley 3 Mike O’Regan 4 Mike Gavin 5  Sean Kelly (0-01) 6 Ciaran Shields  7 Marty Carey 8 Brendan O’Sullivan (0-01)9 Micheal Reilly  10 Conor Cosgrave 11 Enda Reilly 12 Eoghan Ward (0-02) 13 Micheal Sloan  14 Gary Walsh (1-06) 15 Richie Morgan  Subs Mick Gavin 

Donegal 1 Tommy Moran  2 Donnacha Dwyer 3 John Moloney 4 Paul McGinley 5 Steven Lynch 6 Shane Boyle 7 Keith Scally  8 Brian Connor(0-04) 9 Sean Kinahane  10 P J Flanagan (0-02)11 Peter Acheson (0-02)12 Phil Austin (1-02)13 Mickey Annette (1-01)14 Conor Lynam (1-01)15 CJ Molloy (0-01)Subs Sean Manley Alan McGill

Man of the Match:   Brian Connor (Donegal)
Referee Sean Jones

Senior Football - Lovely Leitrim cruise
Leitrim 2-10 Kerry 0-10 

Leitrim when they got going had the guns to take Kerry in a rematch of last year’s championship final. Lots of different faces in this one but the same result. They led 1-03 to one after fifteen minutes but were very fortunate on two clear goal chances for the Kingdom. Pa Ryan stopped a low

Gary O’Driscoll shot at the near post while Ciaran Hughes blocked a long range blast. Kerry did finally settle and had the last four points of the first half to draw within one, 1-03 to 0-05. The sides swapped scores to open the second half before Paul McComiskey added a point and Gary

O’Driscoll was shown a second yellow for an altercation with Aiden Power. Leitrim started to take control in the aftermath with points from Maguire and McComiskey before Gavin McParland had his second goal of the contest. Kerry did have the better of the exchanges in the final ten minutes, five to four but the foot was off the gas in the Leitrim car at this stage as they were on cruise control.

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2 Mike Creegan 3 Ciaran Hughes 4 Lonan Maguire (0-01) 5 Declan McKenna 6 Peter Carragher 7 Cian Maher 8 Adrian O’Connor (0-01)9 Brendan Quigley (0-01) 10 Paul McComiskey (0-05) 11 Kevin Meaney 12 Aiden Power 13Eoghan Carew 14 Kenny O’Connor 15 Gavin McParland (2-02)

Kerry 1 Ger O’Sullivan 2 Kieran O’Connor 3 Kieran Quirke 4 Kieran Scannell 5 Sean Kelly   6 Daryl O’Brien (0-01) 7 John Curran (0-01)8 Mike Jim Fitzgerald 9 Keith Quinn 10 Keelan Hickey 11 Gary O’Driscoll (0-02)12 Damien O’Connor (0-02) 13 Darren Moore 14 Robbie Moran (0-03)15 Naill Farrell (0-01) Sub Shane Coffee, Stephen King